The village of Bard has always been of great importance throughout history as a result of its strategic location. Its rocky prominence has therefore been fortified since ancient times. The origins of the fortress towering over the village date back to the Middle Ages (1034). It is the most majestic work of military architecture in the Aosta Valley and was built between 1830 and 1838 on the site where the Salassi and Romans had once built their own defences. In the shadow of the majestic Bard Fortress, the Medieval quarter, tucked between the two sides of the mountain, is teeming with excellent palazzi and houses, joined together by archways, with mullioned windows or cross-windows.
Points of interest
The Medieval Quarter extends along Via Consolare, which was built in Roman times. It boasts 25 houses with monumental status.
ChallantHouse: built towards the end of the 15th century, this house can be found within Bard’s Medieval quarter. The House was lived in by Count Filiberto of Challant, Lord of Bard between 1487 and 1517. It boasts windows with reverse ogee arches, as well as cross-windows.
Nicole House: built partially over Bard’s western gateway, the building’s façade still presents the marks of the bullets fired during the siege at the Bard Fortress by Napoleon’s army in May 1800. The building forms a tower, at the top of which is the quatrefoiled window of the chapel. The chapel was adorned with frescoes in 1758 by the painter Giovanni Antonio of Biella.
Valperga House: dating back to the 16th century, this house boasts some really fascinating cross-windows and what is left of the pictorial decorations. In the centre, you can see a mullioned window and the remnants of frescoes depicting ancient coats of arms of the nobility, including of the Valperga family.
Positioned in the centre of the Medieval Quarter. It was built in 1598. A unique stone column, 170 cm tall, stands next to it, on the top of which a human head is carved, called Il Mascherone.
ArcheoParc and Roman road
The geosite located close to the Roman road features the characteristic Marmitte dei giganti, cavities formed in the rock by the erosive power of the subglacial waters. Rock engravings dating back to the Iron Age can also be found in this area.
Patronal festival of Our Lady of the Assumption
A street market is held on August 15 to celebrate the Feast of the Assumption, with traditional local produce and handicrafts, music and entertainment along the main street and in Piazza Cavour.
Noel au Bourg
An exhibition-contest of nativity scenes takes place from December 8 to January 6 throughout the district and in the multi-purpose room on the ground floor of the town hall. Enjoy musical entertainment and admire the displays of light on the façades of the monumental houses.